Life

Hello, my name is Julia.

It’s a hilarious thought, really. Try remembering about how many introductory posts you’ve ever made (double your number if you’re anti-social/not a writer/tech impaired/loyal to the one blog you ever made) and how many accomplished what you wanted. Think back… MySpace, Xanga, Livejournal, Blogger, Tumblr, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Polyvore, Instagram. That’s a lot about lil’ old me. These posts should introduce you, obviously, and your style. They should set the mood. They should set the tone. They should inform and entertain.

That’s a lot to ask of me on my day off. I can try, I suppose.

I start my last semester of college this month. I study journalism and creative/professional writing at Saint Louis University. I’m the fashion editor of our student newspaper, The University News. I also work on campus making media-related things for one office and checking out equipment to other students in another. Yes, this means when I graduate I will also be unemployed. Someone pour me a drink. [NOTE: If you’re older and you understand the stomach-turning panic this means, pass on your words of wisdom. Younger? Prepare for the horror.]

I live in Saint Louis with my boyfriend, Lance, and our breakfast-food-named pets, Yogurt (blue tabby cat), Cap’n Crunch and Count Chocula (American bulldogs). We’ve been together about three years — the boyfriend and I, that is — the first two being long distance thanks to my college location and his base location. It was one of those cute military stereotypes with love letters and care packages and, oh yeah, text messages galore and Skype. New romance is nice.

Hmm.. I’m running out of ‘about me’-isms. Let me check a few profiles/intro posts I’ve made before.

My name is Julia and I am small. I’m that redhead in the miniskirt. I spend the majority of my money on cigarettes, coffee, and fruit salad. I like skirts and large handbags and red lipstick. I’m a sucker for alliteration and rhyming. I drive a Jeep Liberty named Jimmy Jr. (figurative son of my first car, James Sr. the 1990 Jeep Cherokee Lance is currently fixing) and it’s awesome. I was named after a Beatles song. I have a lot of collections, and will probably end up on some clean-your-fucking-house television program. I’m addicted to my Android. I like baking and crafting and hostessing and other house-wifey activities. I wear a lot of jewelry, most of which is junk I found and deemed pretty. I make a mean mixtape. I have too big of dreams and too little grasp on reality. I swear a lot. I “would be so pretty if it wasn’t for that hoop” in my nose.

And finally, I’m starting a new blog. I’m starting this to make myself write more often. I’m starting this to share some DIYs and outfits. I’m starting this to give myself something fun to look back on like those forgotten MySpace and LiveJournal accounts.

This ought to be fun.

Talk to me

