Beauty

Hair product love.

My pre-class and (pre-work) mornings have been made ten times easier by running one little $50 + tip four-hour errand. Why, again, did I put this off for.. uhh.. months?

image

That’s the before. In a weird way, I liked the carefree look of my sun-faded color, mismatched roots and wavy ends. At the time this picture was taken I was letting my hair air dry almost entirely — my full-sized hair dryer went bang one morning and never came back, sob — and using minimal product. But I shouldn’t romanticize my hair; it was a constant tangled mess with visible split ends and major dryness.

In case you can’t guess where this story is going, I went to the salon recently and had things taken care of. I had a few inches were trimmed off the ends, side-swept bangs cut in, and an all-over red color added. The color changes slightly every day (a tidbit about all-over red color I actually like, most days) but the cut is finally at its point of perfection. Hooray, hair happiness.

Okay, so this isn’t a great picture of my hair. It’s hard to take a decent picture of my hair with a cellphone all MySpace style (y’know, arm out, lens aimed at yourself). It’s long and I can’t reach back far enough to get it into one shot. Whatever. You can tell it’s more manageable now, I’m sure.

The main point of this post is not to talk about how I went to the salon. That is mildly exciting at best. The important part of the experience? The products I left with.

I mentioned my last hair dryer quit on me, right? Enter my new baby, the Conair 209XN Ion Shine 1875-Watt Hair Dryer with Ceramic Technology and Cord Keeper (photo from Amazon). It was inexpensive and it works wonderfully, plus it hides the cord. I don’t know why the fuck I needed ionic ceramic whatever, but they recommended it and it works. Don’t question the system when the system fixed your hair and hide the cords.

Note: I don’t think I’ve talked much about my hatred of cord clutter yet. Don’t worry. Rants will come. Cord clutter makes me… uncomfortable. And anxious. And.. ick, I don’t even want to talk about it today. Damn you, cords!

But seriously, it’s a great hair dryer. With its three temperatures, two speeds, two attachments it has worked nicely for all-over drying, straightening and curling the ends with my (new and first) ceramic round brush. My drying time has gone from 30-45 minutes down to 15. That’s 15-30 more minutes to spend perfecting my morning latte or prowling for parking.

Only downfall? It’s loud.

I can’t give all the credit for my new-found softness and manageability to the hair dryer — this new product has made a big difference, too. The It’s A 10 Miracle Leave-In Product looks like vanilla pudding if you take the cap off and smells good (nothing like vanilla pudding, but good nevertheless). Amazingly, it sprays out in a perfect mist without any clumping. It claims to repair damage, smooth, add shine, control frizz,  protect color, detangle, act a thermal protector… Shockingly, there’s more on the label, but you get the idea. I’ve been using it for over two weeks and baby, I am a believer. Like my hair dresser told me, I used more the first week and am needing less and less per day due to the continuing softness. I can’t even try to be witty about this; it is worth $15 and lives up to its name. Use coupons (thanks, Ulta!) and it’s so doable.

Any other amazing products I should be using?

6 thoughts on “Hair product love.

      • Same here! I have been using it for about 2 years and now I don’t know how to go with out it! The shampoos and conditioners are amazing too.

  1. Pingback: Tales of sweet discounts: Black Friday 2012 | Oh, Julia Ann

  2. Pingback: Birchbox No. 4: Beauty Protector, Dr. Lipp, twistband, Dr. Jart+ & Ghirardelli | Oh, Julia Ann

Talk to me

