Christmas / Fashion / Gadgets

Because holiday wishlists are a time-passer and mood-booster…

Each December as a child I would sit down with the Toys “R” Us and Target catalogs and create my extensive wishlist. Always including much more than I anticipated receiving, and often items I knew would never happen (read: $$$), the wishlists were over-the-top, exaggerated and a bit of a guilty pleasure.

I remember two things about money from my childhood: there’s an importance in wishing and an importance in earning. When I wanted an American Girl doll at age seven, I was told to ask for money instead of presents for every holiday and to save my petite, childhood earnings until (a year or so later) I had enough to order one. I made spreadsheets of costs: the doll, the outfits, the accessories, the shoes… And after I figured out how to get the most for my money I ordered a Look-Alike doll and the very best garments. I remember the waiting, the arrival of the box, the importance of saving…

But all of that only mattered with things I thought I could afford. Wishlists are exempt. Wishlists are make-believe, and baby, if I had the money… Let’s just say I’ve got my eye on a few lust-worthy items.

Holiday Wishlist - Home Decor from Urban Outfitters
Holiday Wishlist - Dresses from Mod Cloth
Holiday Wishlist - Electronics from Best Buy
Holiday Wishlist - Accessories from Marc by Marc Jacobs
2 thoughts on “Because holiday wishlists are a time-passer and mood-booster…

  1. I remember writing wishlists from catalogues as a little girl – every year I remember asking for a remote control race car and I never got one! I still like writing wish lists now even though they’re way more grown up and expensive πŸ˜€

    • At least getting older means you can buy your own remote control race car… Ha! Last year Lance got a remote control helicopter from my mother– he was 25 to put this into perspective– and it was the funnest way to celebrate Christmas morning. Toys for everyone!

Talk to me

