Fashion

Adding femininity to my wardrobe

In theory, I love the color pink. I’m a female stereotype, whatever, that’s fine– it’s a lovely color, the end. Since I’ve been coloring my hair (am I supposed to pretend it’s natural? Whoops.) orange-red since age 14, I’ve started weeding out shades that clash with the box-dye, and for the longest time I’ve thought that included pink.

Hot pink, I still agree, looks terrible in medium- to large-sized doses when near my red-orange hair, but light pink might be making a comeback.

It wasn’t just my hair, though… Around the time I started coloring my hair I replaced my flats for Docs and Chucks and florals for leopards and plaids. And somehow, between then and now, I never really balanced the whole wardrobe situation and ended up writing off all feminine pieces without thought.

Below are two light pink, super-feminine pieces I would have scoffed at between 2002 and 2011. So delicate! Too pretty! Blah! After feeling possessed to buy them on Black Friday (was it just the great prices or a spiritual wardrobe intervention?) they’ve turned into some of my favorite pieces… As long as I toughen them up just a smidge.

Bows and Zippers
Pleats, pastel and gold

I suddenly feel inspired to paint my nails Barbie pink and bake. Maybe if I had more super-girly moments my apartment would be cleaner, my closet more organized and my dinners more complete.

Ha. Ha ha ha ha. No, they would be just as screwy.

Talk to me

